top of page

Plastic Free July



Do you care about the environment and our Earth?

This challenge is for you then!


The Plastic Free July Movement has started in Australia and now it is a world wide action taken by those who are there to fight plastic pollution.





What does this mean to you? You will have cleaner streets, oceans and beautiful communities.

All you have to do is refuse single use plastic in the month of July. You might think that one person will probably not make a difference, but I am telling you, you and your examples will create changes and shifts in behaviour towards plastic forever.


Think about it. Why would you make something that you’re going to use for a few minutes out of a material that’s basically going to last forever, and you’re just going to throw it away. What’s up with that?


Every week I will post some of my meals that I made using no single use plastic and also share some ideas on how to make this journey easier for all of you.


I'll start with a few easy tips on how to tackle Plastic Free July:


1. Metal Straws


I don't only love metal straws because they are good for the environment and the turtles, but because they look fabulous and I swear they make your cold drinks taste so much better.


It is super easy to find metal straws these days, but my favourites are the following:


These beautiful Rose Gold Straws that you can buy from Amazon. (Just click on the photo)




Also, this Collapsible Straw that you can take with you basically anywhere and keep it clean:



2. Glass Jars and Bottles


I love to keep all of the glass jars or bottles that I buy so that I can reuse them for nut butter, store nuts or seeds in them or use them to drink smoothies out of.

This is an easy way to reuse your jars and not have to buy new plastic containers when looking store certain ingredients.


3. Shopping at a No Waste/ Plastic Store


Now this might take a little work, because I know how convenient it is to go to your favourite grocery store and buy literally everything you need in one go.

I used to be that person, but then I realised that those shopping trips came with endless amounts of plastic packaging that I just ended up throwing in the trash.


I am lucky to have an amazing Low Waste Store in my neighbourhood, the Core Leamington that offers pretty much all the necessary items for a household in minimal and no plastic packaging. I always get my oats, different nuts, coconut and even detergent and soap from there, all I have to do is bring my own container and they fill it up for me. No waste, no crap!


4. Making my own Vegetable Stock


I used to buy vegetable stock all the time from the grocery store and pretty much all the time I ended up with single use plastic in my trash can.


Lately, I have decided to put those vegetable scraps to good use, so now every time I peel onions, potatoes, carrots or any root vegetable I save the scraps and freeze them until I have enough to cook my own vegetable stock with.





All you have to do is put your vegetable scraps in a large sauce pan, cover with water, add salt and pepper for taste and let it boil until your water gets brown. Store your stock in the freezer if you don't plan on using all of it in one go. That's literally it! You are welcome. This is how you save money and cook delicious food.





If you feel like you are up for a challenge with a good cause, join the Plastic Free July Movement here and share it with your Family and Friends, educate those around you.



38 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page